CCE refers to a system of school – based evaluation of students that covers all aspects of students’ development. The term ‘continuous’ means the evaluation of students’ growth and development is a continuous process spread over the entire span of academic session. The term ‘comprehensive’ means that it covers both the scholastic and co–scholastic aspects of students’ growth and development. It refers to the application of variety of tools and techniques of assessment.

The term scholastic includes subjects like -- Two languages, Mathematics, Science, Social Science, Info Tech etc. The term co–scholastic includes Life skills, Work Education, Attitudes and Values, Literary & Scientific skills ,Visual & Performing Art, Clubs , Games & Sports, etc. and various other activities.

Assessment in scholastic subjects is done on a 9 point scale while that in the co-scholastic subjects on a 5 point scale.

There are two kind of assessments - Formative (FA) and Summative (SA). Their weightage for each term are shown in brackets.

Each academic year has been divided into two terms of six month each.

First Term(1st April to 30th Sept.) : FA 1 (10%) + FA2 (10%) + SA1 (30%) = 50%
Second Term(1st Oct to 31st March) : FA 3 (10%) + FA4 (10%) + SA2 (30%) = 50%

FA  – Formative Assessment    :  School based internal assessment
SA  – Summative Assessment : Question paper and marking scheme are supplied by the Board and Assessment is carried out by the school / CBSE under scheme 1 / 2 respectively.
Every student must obtain a minimum of 25% marks in each subject in both SA 1 & SA 2. He / She must obtain 33 % marks in the overall total of FAs & SAs.


Revised scheme of Board Examination(Class X)

and assessment of various activities

The CBSE has revised its scheme of examination ( AISSE ) for class X as well that of co – scholastic activities with effect from academic session 2017 – 18.


Formative & Summative assessments   Weightage

Internal marks by School             60 %

Marks by Board or School              40 %


Scholastic subjects

  1. All students will have to appear in class X exam conducted by CBSE


Assessment by CBSE     80 %

(Questions in the examination will cover 100 % syllabus

of class X only  for each subject )

  1. Internal assessment by school 20 %
    1. Three periodic tests will be conducted out of which average of the best two tests will form 10 %
    2. The remaining 10 % will comprise of
      1. Subject Enrichment activities 5 %
      2. Note Book submission regularity, etc. in each subject 5 %
      3. Marks as well as grades on a 9 point scale will be awarded for individual subjects.

   Co scholastic Activities

  1. The u/m activities will be graded on a 5 – point scale (A to E). These are essential for holistic development of the student.
    1. Work Education ( W.E.)
    2. Art Education ( Drawing)
    3. Health & Physical Education ( Sports / Martial Arts / Yoga / NCC etc)
  2. Discipline

It impacts career shaping and helps build character. Its elements are attendance, sincerity, behavior and values (virtues). Students will be graded on a five point scale (A to E).

Note: Same assessment model will be followed in respect of students of classes VI to IX also with effect from the session 2017 – 18.